DAY FOUR, OCTOBER 28, 2018

This is the last night to stay in a motel! This morning we left Elk City Oklahoma at 7:30, left Oklahoma, crossed the Texas Panhandle, and are now almost out of New Mexico – 917.3 km.

We are in Gallup N.M. at another Red Roof Inn with about 4 1/2 hours to go. The last lap is my least favourite of all. Going down those steep mountain roads was bad enough when Lloyd drove. I just closed my eyes! But you can’t do that when you are the driver! Oh well, I’ll just wait for the first Saguaro with its arms open wide welcoming us back for the winter!

We saw cotton fields, lots of cattle but no oil well! The biggest crop was windmills – thousands of them! But we did see (smell!) stockyards stretching out for about a mile along the highway!

This morning when we started out it was still dark. Watching the sunrise in my rear review mirrors was beautiful. Once the sun got higher and was shining in my eyes through those same mirrors I wasn’t as pleased.

We started out, just us and the transports! Then there was one more car, a green cadillac. The two of us must have had our cruise controls set exactly the same because I followed him and we passed transports, pulled back in to the right lane right in tandem. The HE CAME !! You know the one, passed us on the fly, then soon we caught up to him, passed him, then the same thing again – several times. It was so annoying! Then all of a sudden he passed a line of transports and took off! I could see him way ahead of us, topping a hill. About ten minutes later we topped a hill (there are lots of them on this road) and saw police lights ahead, so everyone went to the left lane, and as we passed, guess who was pulled over! This never happens! You never see someone ,who passed you, get caught later on. We were just roaring with laughter. He got his! (and we got our laugh of the day!)

Sunday is a great day to drive -no one going to work, or working at road construction. We made great time. As my granddaughter, Annie, will tell you, I often talk to people when standing in line. At noon, while in line for my lunch, the man ahead of us started to talk about coffee! He was a truck driver and I mentioned the terrible cup of coffee I bought this morning. He said he knows where there is some great coffee, and where there is some that is awful ! I told him I brought a winter’s worth of tea bags every year. He said “People down here don’t know how to make tea” I agreed. I said it is because they pour hot water on a tea bag in a cup. It must be boiling water on tea bags in a tea pot! I guess I’m showing my country roots, or maybe it’s my Canadian roots!

Well next blog should be from our little nest in LaHacienda Resort in Apache Junction!

 

Leave a comment